APA/AICP Elections

APA Board and AICP Commission

Two individuals have been slated for each of the following APA Board positions: APA President-Elect, Board Director At Large, Board Director At Large (focused for a minority member), Board Director Region 2, Board Director Region 3, Board Director Region 4.

Two individuals have been slated for each of the following AICP Commission positions: AICP President-Elect, Commissioner Region 2, Commissioner Region 3, Commissioner Region 4, Commissioner Region 6 (two-year term).

Nominated candidates for the Board and Commission were announced on May 29. Balloting will be July 15 to August 15, via email. Successful candidates will assume office January 1, 2020. The 2019 APA/AICP Election Policies and Procedures document explains the petition process. Interested individuals can email getinvolved@planning.org for more information about the petition process. A map is available of APA's electoral regions.

Nominated Candidates

APA Board of Directors

APA President-Elect

Leo Asuncion, AICP

George Homewood, FAICP

APA Board Director At Large

Linda Amato, AICP

John Reinhardt, AICP

APA Board Director At Large (focused for a minority member)

Miguel Vazquez, AICP

Angela Brooks, AICP

APA Board Director, Region 2

Ben Hitchings, FAICP

Bruce Stiftel, FAICP

APA Board Director, Region 3

Charles Graves III

Wendy Shabay, AICP

APA Board Director, Region 4

Wendy Moeller, FAICP

Tim Gladhill, AICP

AICP Commission

AICP President-Elect

Marissa Aho, AICP

Mitchell Silver, FAICP

AICP Commissioner, Region 2

Barry Nocks, FAICP

Arlova Vonhm, AICP

AICP Commissioner, Region 3

Kim Mickelson, AICP

Silvia Vargas, AICP

AICP Commissioner, Region 4

Erin Perdu, AICP

Ben Carlisle, AICP

AICP Commissioner, Region 6 (unexpired 2-year term)

Francisco Contreras, AICP

Brian Foote, AICP

Petition Candidates

Only candidates who submitted a timely and complete position statement to the APA or AICP Nominating Committee, but were not nominated, may petition to be put on the ballot for seats on the Board of Directors and AICP Commission.

Candidates for regional seats may be nominated by the petition of at least 1% of applicable members in the region (Each APA region has about 6,000 members). Candidates for at large seats may be nominated by the petition of at least 0.5% of applicable members (APA has around 40,000 members). For AICP regional positions, the signatures shall be from AICP members. Forms for signatures in support of petition candidates will be supplied by the Association.

2019 Petition Candidates

Through July 1, APA members may sign these petitions:

2019 Consolidated Elections

Chapters and Divisions

The following APA chapters are participating in the consolidated elections this year: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, National Capital Area, Nebraska, New Jersey, North Carolina, Northern New England, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Texas, Utah, Washington, Western Central, and Wisconsin.

These divisions are taking part in this consolidated election: City Planning & Management Division, Federal Planning, Hazard Mitigation and Disaster Recovery, Housing and Community Development, Latinos and Planning, LGBTQ, New Urbanism, Private Practice, Sustainable Communities, Transportation (a bylaws update).

Student Representatives Council (SRC)

Appearing on the consolidated election ballot, available to current APA student members, in this election include: SRC Chair (an APA Board Director), SRC Regional Representative Region 2; SRC Regional Representative Region 3, and SRC Regional Representative Region 4.

Student Representatives Council Elections


If you have questions, please contact getinvolved@planning.org.