Economic Development Division Holzheimer Memorial Student Scholarship

The 2017 Holzheimer Memorial Student Scholarship winners are M. Nolan Gray and Olivia Gonzalez of Rutgers University's Master of City and Regional Planning program, who submitted their independent study project, "Making Room for Home-Based Businesses: A Survey of 12 Zoning Ordinances." Their report, supervised by Dr. Barbara Faga, assesses the growing importance of home-based businesses for local economic development and reviews how zoning ordinances in 12 large U.S. cities regulate home-based businesses. They conclude that local zoning codes are frequently out-of-step with the changing character of home-based businesses, and propose approaches that support local economies while addressing negative impacts on neighborhoods.

The committee also acknowledged two submissions with "Honorable Mention" designations: Lauren Shuffleton Drago (Tufts University) for the paper, "Liquor Licenses in Boston: Distribution and Impact," which assessed neighborhood disparities along race and class lines in access to local liquor licensing; and Austin Shelton (Georgia Tech) for the paper, "Rail-Trails & Rural Communities: The Economic and Demographic Impact of the Silver Comet Trail on Polk County, Georgia."

The scholarship will be presented at the APA National Planning Conference in New York City, May 6-9, 2017.

The 2017 Holzheimer Scholarship committee was comprised of: Dr. Greg Schrock of Portland State University (chair); Dr. Margaret Cowell of Virginia Tech; Dr. Haifeng Qian of University of Iowa; Shana Johnson, AICP, of Foursquare Integrated Transportation Planning; Dr. Shari Garmise of the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities; and Brittany Bagent of the Columbia River Economic Development Council.

About the Holzheimer Scholarship

The Economic Development Division annually solicits applications for the Holzheimer Memorial Student Scholarship for Economic Development Planning. Applicants must be Master's level students currently enrolled in or recently graduated from PAB-accredited planning programs in the United States.

The scholarship is named in memory of longtime APA member and economic development visionary, Dr. Terry Holzheimer of Arlington County, Virginia and Virginia Tech. The $2,000 award is a scholarship provided by the APA's Economic Development Division. Winners are strongly encouraged but not required to use the award money to support attendance at the APA National Planning Conference. The application materials should include an original student paper or work that is 2,500 words or less (including citations and footnotes), and must include the name and contact information of a faculty member involved in supervising the student and/or the submitted work.


Due to the word limit, submissions may reflect adaptations of original student work, including term papers, capstone and studio projects. Group submissions are allowed, although it is expected that one or two students will take responsibility for the submission and represent the group should the submission be chosen as the winner.

The submission should speak to planning practitioners about a substantive topic related to economic development in the United States. We welcome submissions that focus broadly on the topic of economic development, which we define in terms of enhancing community, urban and regional economic prosperity, inclusion and resilience.

The winning paper or project will satisfactorily demonstrate the following: topical relevance to economic development practitioners with a clear discussion of why practitioners should care about the findings; soundness of empirical methods; quality writing; and originality and creativity.

The committee reserves the right to withhold the award should no submissions comply with these criteria.

The paper will also be published on the Economic Development Division website and distributed electronically to division members.


Greg Schrock, Committee Chair
Associate Professor
Toulan School of Urban Studies and Planning
Portland State University

Previous Winners

List of previous award winners